antonio virgili250



Antonio Virgili Rodríguez

Camino de las Clarisas 263
33203 Gijón, Asturias, Spain

tel: +34 985 185 900

National Co-ordinator Antonio Virgili Rodríguez

Director General
RTPA - Radiotelevisión del Principado de Asturias
Camino de las Clarisas 263
33203 Gijón, Asturias
tel: +34 985 185 900
fax: +34 985 185 939
e-mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


The 46 million Spaniards have a wide choice of TV stations, both national and regional systems. The national network Television Espanola (TVE) started back in 1957. Spanish regional television first started in San Sebastián, when the Basque Government decided to broadcast to their people in their own language in 1982. A second Basque channel, broadcasting in Spanish, opened in 1986. In 1985 Televisión de Galicia (TVG) set up its own full service transmission in Galician from their station in Santiago de Compostela covering the Galician region. 

Similar systems have been implanted in Catalonia (1983), Valencian Community (1989, shut down in 2013), Andalusia (1989), Madrid Community (1989), Canary Islands (1999), Castilla-La Mancha (2000), Asturias (2005), Murcia (2005), Balearic Islands (2005), Aragon (2005), Extremadura (2006) and Castilla y León (2009).

In Spain these broadcasters are usually called autonomous TVs, since they are owned by their corresponding Autonomous Communities, whose governments provide them with subsidies though extra finance is raised through commercials. These stations aim to spread and promote the culture, the traditions, the language and the social and institutional reality of each Community, offering a public service of close contents. They also undertake a crucial role like engines of the local audiovisual industry and innovation. 

In 1988 they founded the Federation of Autonomous Broadcasting Companies (FORTA) in Spain. This network of 12 stations and based in Madrid has proved particularly important in securing agreements with major film companies, news services, advertising groups, sports rights owners, other TV companies as well as organising exchanges with other public or private Spanish stations and co-ordinating productions projects with all or part of the members. Besides FORTA stations, TVE also run several smaller regional services, mainly news and sports. 

Spanish public media are facing up to the current digital environment that has reformulated the chain of value, to the fragmentation of audience because of the boost of the thematic channels produced after the arrival of TDT (Terrestrial Digital Television), to a strong reduction of the advertising investment caused by the economic crisis and to a restriction of the budgetary contribution.


Television de Galicia (TVG) -
Autonomous Community of Galicia
Corporación Radio e Television de Galicia (CRTVG)
Bando - San Marcos
Town/City: 15820 Santiago de Compostela
Tel. +34 981 540 640


Contacts CIRCOM Regional:
Fernando R. Ojea Tel + 34 981 540 643
Director of Communications at CRTVG
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Other contacts:
Rosa Vilas Tel +34 981 540 710
Managing Director at TVG, S.A.
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

TVG was set up in 1985 as the main branch of Compañía de Radio-Televisión de Galicia (CRTVG). This full-service station broadcasts 24 hours per day in the own and official language, Galician, on two digital terrestrial channels reaching around 3 million people in Northwest Spain, and two satellite channels for America and Europe, where there are large Galician communities. 

The budget of this public service broadcaster is supported mainly by the autonomous Government as well as advertising. The staff accounts near 900 employees in its production centre and four bureaus in the main cities of Galicia plus one more in Madrid.

TVG is leader in news programmes, usually reaching audience shares of 30%. The programming includes news, culture, animation, contests, drama series, featured length films, talk shows and sports. 60% of the production is done with in-house resources.

The public service radio and television company is firmly established in the Galicia and means an engine for the independent audiovisual industry in the region. Shows like “Luar”, with over 20 years on air, or successful series like “Matalobos”, 2012 Prix CIRCOM’s winner for drama category, ratify its consistent success among the audience.

CRTVG is working to adapt its contents to the new market demands and developing a strategy focused on mobile and social media. CRTVG also counts with specific features allowing to monitor live broadcasts of TVG an Radio Galega, as well as the video on demand.


EITB - Euskal Telebista (Bask County) -
c/ Capuchinos de Basurto, 2
48013 Bilbao
Tel +34 94 656 30 00
Mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


Euskal Irrati Telebista (EITB, Basque Radio-Television) is the Basque Country's public service broadcaster. Its main brand is Euskal Telebista (ETB, Basque Television). The EITB group is the leading media group in the Basque Country with five television channels and five radio stations.


Ens Public de Radiotelevisió de les Illes Balears (EPRTVIB) -
(Balearic Islands)
director General: Andreu Manresa Monserrat
c/ Madalena
21 Polígon Son Bugadelles
07180 Santa Ponça (Calviá)
Palma de Mallorca
phone +34 971 139 330
e-mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


IB3 is a publicly funded Balearic television channel. It began test transmissions on 1 March 2005 and the first regular broadcast began on 5 September 2005. It is owned by the Ens Públic de Radiotelevisió de les Illes Balears (EPRTVIB).


RTPA – Radiotelevisión del Principado de Asturias 
Director General: Antonio Virgili
Camino de las Clarisas, 263
33203 Gijón, Asturias, Spain
Tel +34 985 18 59 00


Radiotelevisión del Principado de Asturias (RTPA), is public service broadcasting company created by the Regional Parliament in 2005, in order to develop the regional culture and identify and to provide the needs of a modern society.

It consists of two divisions: Televisión del Principado de Asturias (TPA) and Radio del Principado de Asturias (RPA), as well as the website Regular television broadcasts began in mid-2006 for the entire Spanish region of Asturias, which has 1.084.000 inhabitants.


 RTVCYL - Radio Televisión Castilla y León -
Director General: Eduardo Álvarez
C/ Monasterio San Millán de la Cogolla,
30 47015 Valladolid 
Tel +34 983 35 43 48


RTVCYL is a company licensed by the government of the Spanish region of Castilla y León to manage the public service broadcasting throughout the region on DTT. Its mission is to develope the regional culture and identify as well as to provide the needs of a modern society.

Castilla y León Televisión station launched in 2009 and manages two 24-hour channels, one of them supporting serveral local windows. Its headquarters are in the city of Valladolid and there are also up to 10 production centres, one for each every province capital city, in order to deliver to he 2.540.000 inhabitants of the region the updated information and entertainment programmes as well as other public service contents.